California Club

L’hôtel en ruine, où je suis allée avec M.A. dans la vallée de la Bekaa, en ce week end du 21-23 janvier, m’évoque l’atmosphère si singulière de l’hôtel où séjourne Barton Fink, avec Chet et Pete le liftier- ses deux seuls serviteurs-.

Oui, car nous étions les deux seuls hôtes de cet hôtel en ruines, face à ces ruines. Et l’hôtel n’avait que deux hôtes, deux serviteurs, qui ont tout fait, pour nous faire plaisir, dans ce Liban qui semblait basculer dans le chaos.

J’aime l’ambiguïté du mot « hôte », désignant, à la fois celui qui reçoit, et celui qui est convié, reçu.

Dans l’hôtel du film Barton Fink, on ne voit clairement que deux hôtes, même si le spectateur peut être troublé par les paires de chaussures déposées devant chaque chambre. Mais appartiennent-elles à des clients ou sont elles là pour justifier le service de Chet ?

Et je pense aussi à cet hôtel de repli, où j’ai séjourné à Los Angeles, cet hôtel mal entretenu, n’attendant aucun hôte, où j’ai attendu plus d’une heure pour qu’enfin l’hôte du California Club, arrivant de nulle part, me remette le « dress code » hallucinant (Cf *) de ce lieu vide, avant de me désigner ma chambre, cette chambre minuscule & glauque.

Même si je voyais quelques chaussures à cirer reposées devant les portes des chambres, jamais je n’aurai croisé un seul hôte, à l’exception de mon image dans les miroirs.

(*) House Rules for Conduct and Dress

In order to preserve the customs and traditions at The California Club, all the Members, Privilege Holders and their Guests are requested to conduct themselves with decorum and in keeping with the Club’s traditional concepts of dignity and mutual respect. Gentlemen are asked to wear coats and ties and Ladies to wear dresses, suits or skirts (with blouses, sweaters or jackets) or appropriate dress pant suits in keeping with the above standards.

Appropriate Business Casual is acceptable on the Third Floor of the Clubhouse. Appropriate Business Casual is suitable in the Third Floor Bar with no time restriction and until 6:30 p.m. in the Third Floor Dining Room and Patio. After 6:30 p.m., Gentlemen are requested to wear sport coats or blazers (ties are not required) in the Third Floor Dining Room and Patio.

It is expected that Members and Guests who choose to dress casually will dress in a manner that is consistent with the traditional elegance and ambiance, which have always been the hallmark of the Club.

Appropriate Business Casual is limited to the Third Floor and above, and we ask that you do not exit on any other floors.

The Guidelines for Appropriate Business Casual are as follows:

Gentlemen
Gentlemen are expected to wear dress slacks. Cotton, linen and wool are acceptable. Jeans are not permitted.
Gentleman’s shirts must have collars, with colors and designs of an appropriate nature. Short-sleeved shirts and collared polo shirts are acceptable. Denim shirts are not permitted.
Gentlemen and Ladies are expected to wear leather footwear. Athletic shoes are not acceptable.

Ladies
A range of women’s casual clothing is appropriate consistent with the elegance of The California Club.

Textes protégés par Copyright : 2010-2011 © Swimming in the Space